The purpose of the Alamo Theatre Arts Council (ATAC) is to recognize and celebrate the work of San Antonio theatre artists; to generate visibility and excitement for locally produced theater; to stimulate and encourage the pursuit of excellence in artistic and production standards; and to educate audiences in discovering the riches of the thespian arts.

Jasmina Wellinghoff



A special award for contribution to San Antonio theatre was presented along with the very first Alamo Theatre Arts Council (ATAC) Globe Awards in 1991. In 1997 the award was named The Jasmina Wellinghoff Award in honor of  the local San Antonio theatre critic and founding member of ATAC after she stepped down as president of the organization.

The Wellinghoff Award is an annual award presented by ATAC to a person or persons for special contribution to theatre in San Antonio. It is not a “Lifetime Achievement Award,” or “Excellence Award”.  In Jasmina Wellinghoff’s own words:

“There is a good reason the award was defined in terms of ‘Special

Contribution.’ It's the broadest and least limiting category. The idea was

to be able to recognize an exceptional contribution by a range of people,

not only theater artists, although it certainly included them as well. For

instance, John Igo and Jo Long were recipients. Igo, for his years of

support and criticism, and Long, who was the director of the Carver, for

bringing to town exceptional and interesting companies from all over the

world and exposing San Antonio audiences to their theater arts. She also

helped local artists produce their work at the Carver.

Age or length of time of any kind is not a determining factor but a person's

consistent contributions are more likely to be noticed and appreciated if

that person is active in his or her capacity for a certain length of time.

However, should someone do something truly exceptional in a single year,

that person could conceivably qualify for the award.

Merit, in this case, is something broader than the quality of one's acting,

or designing, or directing. A dedicated volunteer could be recognized or,

say, a public servant who fights for the improvement of funding, or a

photographer who regularly donates his time to record theatrical

productions, etc. You get the idea. Of course, actors, directors,

choreographers, music directors and designers can qualify as well, and, in

fact, most award winners have come from their ranks.”

Candidates for the Jasmina Wellinghoff Award are chosen by majority vote by the ATAC board of directors who examine the contributions of each nominee as a guide during the selection process. Past winners have included directors, designers, educators, actors, critics, producers, stage managers and those who have held positions in theatre organizations.

1991    Steve Bailey           

Head of  Jump-Start Performance Co. which helped the rebirth of the Blue Star area with innovative programing

1992    Maureen Halligan       

Developed the theatre program at the Univ. of the Incarnate Word. With her husband Ronald Ibbs, she founded the Resident Company at UIW which produced professional quality theater in the summer .

1993    Jackie Sparks          


1994    Jo Long           

Brought new theatrical events from around the country and the world to the Carver Community Cultural Center

1995    John Igo           

Theater critic

1996    Alice Finney          


1997    Al Keller          


1998    Sr. Germaine Corbin  

Educator, Univ. of the Incarnate Word

1999    Sterling Houston     

  Playwright, Artistic Director of Jump-Start Performance Co.

2000    Frank Christian     

  Actor, Trustee Russell Hill Rogers Fund for the Arts.

2001    Allan S. Ross       

    Director, Designer, Actor, Educator, San Antonio College, ATAC president, SATCO president.

2002    George Burnette       

Set and lighting Designer, Educator, University of the Incarnate Word

2003    Dan Laurence    

   Actor, director, educator, author, George Bernard Shaw scholar

2004    Mary Denman       

Actress, TV and radio personality, fundraiser for the San Pedro Playhouse

2005    Gloria Liu         

  Choreographer, director

2006    Steve Gilliam        

   Nationally recognized Set Designer and Educator, Trinity University

2007    Tammy and Ken Frazier   

Costume and set design and direction, Vexler Theatre

2008    Margaret Mitchell       

Costume designer, University of the Incarnate Word

2009    Jim Mammarella       

Educator at San Antonio College, director, actor, ATAC president

2010    Bill and Francis Swinny   

Francis- educator at Trinity Univ., Bill educator at Alamo Heights HS

2011    Susan Breidenbach      

Stage Manager at local theatres.

2012 Richard Rosen

Founder and director of Magik Theatre

2013 Dr. William McCrary and Michelle Pietre

Directors at UTSA and Other San Antonio Community Theatres

In 2001 a Special Award was given to the Renaissance Guild for their Act One Series